Can we start again?

Ακούω στο ράδιο διαφημίσεις για την συναυλία των Tindersticks τον Σεπτέμβρη και κάτι παθαίνω. Μου είναι λίγο δύσκολο να το περιγράψω, είναι σαν να με χτυπάει ένα τεράστιο κύμα νοσταλγίας το οποίο με πιέζει μέχρι να σκάσω και μετά φεύγει αφήνοντας μια γλυκόπικρη γεύση στο στόμα μου (αλλά όχι ακριβώς έτσι :p).

Οι Tindersticks δημιουργήθηκαν το 1992 στο Nottingham της Αγγλίας (άσχετο αλλά πήγε ένας φίλος εκεί και μου είπε ότι είναι απίστευτο μέρος..). Υποτίθεται πως παίζουν indie, alternative rock αλλά μου φαίνεται λίγο αυτό για να περιγράψω την μουσική τους. Η μελωδία τους είναι πολύ πλούσια, και πώς να μην ήταν άλλωστε, έχουν 500 όργανα από πίσω (2 όργανα παρόμοια με το ξυλόφωνο, βιολί, τρομπέτα, κλαρινέτο, τρομπόνι και κάτι άλλα περίεργα). Επίσης η φωνή του Staples είναι εξαιρετική, βαθιά και γεμάτη συναίσθημα. Καλή απόλαυση.

Δισκογραφία:

  • 1993 – Tindersticks (aka First Album)
  • 1995 – Tindersticks (aka Second Album)
  • 1997 – Curtains
  • 1999 – Simple Pleasure
  • 2001 – Can Our Love…
  • 2003 – Waiting for the Moon
  • 2008 – The Hungry Saw
  • 2010 – Falling Down a Mountain

Another Night In (Curtains)

Greed’s all gone now, there’s no question
And I can see you push your hair behind your ear
Regain your balance

Doesn’t matter where she is tonight
Or with whoever she spends her time

If these arms were meant to hold her
They were never meant to hold her so tight

For the love of that girl

Greed’s all gone now, panic subsides
When I could run, pulling arms to love her

Try to put myself on the inside
Of the love of that girl

Tears swell, you don’t know why
For the love of that girl
They never fall, they can never run dry
For the love of that girl

Promise is never over, never questions that needed reply
But she could breathe deep into my neck
Let me know I’m just on the outside

Of the love of that girl

Tears swell, you don’t know why
For the love of that girl
They never fall, they can never run dry
For the love of that girl

Greed’s all gone now, there’s no question
And I can see you push your hair behind your ears
Regain your balance

Doesn’t matter where she is tonight
Or with whoever she spends her time
If these arms were meant to hold her
They were never meant to hold her so tight

For the love of that girl

Tears swell, you don’t know why
For the love of that girl
They never fall, they can never run dry
For the love of that girl

Let’s Pretend (Curtains)

Let’s not make it into a big thing
Let’s not get lost in this
I know it is, I know we could
I guess we surely would
Let’s pretend it’s not
It doesn’t mean a thing

Let’s not blow it out of all sense
As though it meant so much
It’s always thought about for weeks
Not every time your lips meet mine, I think of her

But when her hands reach out, I think of you

Dying Slowly (Can Our Love)

I’ve got memories
I keep them away from me
They won’t behave
Won’t be what I want them to be

I’ve seen it all and it’s all done
I’ve been with everyone and no one

So many squandered moments
So much wasted time
So busy chasing dreams
I left myself behind

I’ve seen it all and it’s all done
I’ve been with everyone and no one

So this dying slowly
It seemed better than shooting myself

This dying slowly
It seemed better than shooting myself

These worms, darling
They’re nibbling away at me
They go at it when I’m sleeping
Won’t let me get to my feet

I’ve seen it all and it’s all done
I’ve been with everyone and no one

So this dying slowly
It seemed better than shooting myself

This dying slowly
It seemed better than shooting

If I could find the words to explain this feeling
I would shout them out
If I could find out all this, what’s inside me
I would shout it out

So this dying slowly
It seemed better than shooting myself
This dying slowly
It seemed better than shouting it out

I make some coffee
Pull on that new pair of pants
I can get so far

The feeling just falls away
I’ve seen it all and it’s all done
I’ve been with everyone and no one

I’m just tired, baby
I just need to lay down
I’m just tired, darling
I just need to lay down
I’m just tired, baby
I just need to lay down
I’m just tired, darling
I just need to lay down
I’m just tired, darling

Can we start again (Simple Pleasures)

So many times
I said that I love them
Looking over my shoulder at the door

So many times
I can’t live without her
The wheel kept turning round
My feeling’s changed
I went my own way

What can I say
To make you stay?

Cos in my dreams
They smother all over me
And I’m trying to explain

So many arms
Reach from my memories
Pull all at once
I’m lost amongst
The folds in their skin
I did you wrong
But I’m sorry now
And I’ll show you how

If you were here now

You couldn’t change
you wouldn’t understand

but I’m ready now I’m ready now

I’ll make you proud I was your man

and sing a song
but it’s so ugly now
and I’ll show you how

cos I’m ready now

I’m ready now
I’m ready now
I’m ready now
Hey I’m ready now

Can we start again?

so many times I said that I loved them

I’m ready now
but I’m ready now

Can we start again?

so many times

I can’t live without her
The years was more than I could bear
It’s turning round

But in my dreams

Can we start again?

They smother all over me

I’m ready now
And I’m trying to explain

Can we start again?

So many arms reach from my memory
The wheels kept turning round

Για περισσότερες πληροφορίες για τους Tindersticks επισκεφτείτε το Wiki ή το επίσημο site του συγκροτήματος.

Σχολιάστε

